Reviews

7.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
6.7
Property location
8.8
Facilities
7.3
Staff
8.1
Value
6.7

Reviews

    Carolina
    nl

    Review score

    9.2
    19 September 2018

    A small special place

    Somewhat difficult to manage the steep stairs to the sleeping area in my room.
    Wonderful small place, situated in a hutong, amidst Chinese families. Excellent central location. Easy walk to subway station Heping Men, line 2. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice courtyard.
    Kenzo
    be

    Review score

    9.6
    9 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mark
    nl

    Review score

    4.6
    13 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Adrian
    gb

    Review score

    3.3
    29 April 2018

    Small, unimpressive courtyard down a back alley. Room liable to be filled with damp.

    Room was filled with damp and leaking pipes. Mattress was wet. Transferred to another room for the night. Room was incredibly small. receptionist promised us a better room then kicked us out of it after admitting to us that the room was actually booked. Moved Receptionist forgot to return my deposit until i asked for it back. We left the next day.
    David
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    24 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Peggie
    my

    Review score

    7.1
    22 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    David
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    14 April 2018

    Great location and bit quirky. Lack of room service would be a problem if staying for a time.

    No room service/cleaning etc during the three night stay.
    Excellent location and innovative room design.
    Nicolas
    fr

    Review score

    8.8
    30 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    jen
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    29 March 2018
    A great boutique hotel that is also a heritage site. The rooms are really small but the courtyard is quaint. It is in a good location to walk to sights but there are no other hotels around that we saw. By Tianamen square there are shops and restaurants about 20 minutes walking away. If you leave, always take the hotel card with you to get directions back to your hotel - there is no sign outside, just a number and it is in a traditional alleyway.
    Jack Robinson
    nz

    Review score

    5.0
    23 March 2018

    Location Location but Money-Hungry Staff

    Staff were rude and corrupt
    Beautiful property
    Iv
    pl

    Review score

    7.1
    18 December 2017
    Breakfast... owful! Our room was very, very small
    Nice place, with great chinese atmosphear.
    au

    Review score

    10
    17 December 2017
    The staff were genuine, generous, friendly and evidently eager to act towards their guests in a respectful manner and do their utmost to assist in providing a fabulous experience for their guests during their stay. Close to major landmarks, restaurants, a large supermarket and Beijing's subway. A very safe location!!
    Ruth Green
    au

    Review score

    5.0
    22 November 2017

    I wouldn’t recommend staying here to any International travellers

    We would have been better in a Western hotel with Conceirge service, despite years of travelling in China. We couldn’t get the hotel to call a taxi for us; staff said it would be easy to go out and get one - it was not. From arrival we had trouble - I had clearly booked for 3 adults and 2 children and could show that on my booking. The hotel wanted to charge us more for a fifth guest, didn’t want to give us a fifth towel, wanted us to pay more for a fifth breakfast. We didn’t eat the breakfast we’d pre-paid for on second day. We tried both the Chinese and the Western breakfast and both terrible. For less expense we could have stayed somewhere with friendly staff, a concierge to order taxi/help with negotiating Beijing, a good buffet breakfast and adequate and fluffy towels. The towels were threadbare. It wasn’t cheap. If it was cheap I would be more generous with rating but again- could have stayed with a good Western chain for less money and had a much easier time.
    Leaving
    Mikejct
    au

    Review score

    4.6
    15 October 2017

    Very disappointing experience. Would not recommended anyone stay here. Definitely regret.

    The rooms have been converted into multiple small rooms. Downstairs was a tiny sitting area, no safe as advertised, no wardrobe. Also a separate shower and toilet. Upstairs in the loft was only enough room for a mattress only. The photos on the website were misleading and made rooms and amenities look better than they were. For what we paid 180 AUD a night, we stayed in 5 star accommodation in the centre of Beijing. Wangfujing. My partner is Chinese and wanted me to experience genuine hutong life, but immediately cancelled our second nights accommodation on seeing the room. Towels had holes in them, and I reckon were 20 years or more old.
    The grapevine in the middle of the courtyard.
    Howard
    de

    Review score

    7.9
    12 October 2017

    Authentic experience in the centre of the city.

    The outside metal stairway to our room was not the safest or easiest to navigate in the rain. If you are unsteady on your feet make sure that you stay downstairs.
    Full of character. Hidden within a Hutong, very close to Tiananmen Square. Very friendly staff and great Chinese breakfast. The room was querky but fun. The very opposite of a business hotel.
    Torrens
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    23 September 2017

    Hidden gem near the Forbidden City

    Shower heads need to be cleaned or replaced for a better shower
    Great location and friendly staff - although few foreigners seem to pass through so English is limited. Loved the traditional design of the rooms. Breakfast was simple but filling.
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    15 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rania Mostafa
    kw

    Review score

    5.4
    21 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Andreas
    se

    Review score

    7.9
    23 July 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    10
    14 May 2017

    free upgrade

    Thank you for the free upgrade to a loft suite. very nice. perfect hotel
Loading reviews