This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

7.3 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.6
Property location
8.7
Facilities
7.1
Staff
8.1
Value
6.7
Reviews
    Iv
    pl
    7.1
    18 December 2017
    Breakfast... owful! Our room was very, very small
    Nice place, with great chinese atmosphear.
    au
    10
    17 December 2017
    The staff were genuine, generous, friendly and evidently eager to act towards their guests in a respectful manner and do their utmost to assist in providing a fabulous experience for their guests during their stay. Close to major landmarks, restaurants, a large supermarket and Beijing's subway. A very safe location!!
    Ruth Green
    au
    5.0
    22 November 2017
    I wouldn’t recommend staying here to any International travellers
    We would have been better in a Western hotel with Conceirge service, despite years of travelling in China. We couldn’t get the hotel to call a taxi for us; staff said it would be easy to go out and get one - it was not. From arrival we had trouble - I had clearly booked for 3 adults and 2 children and could show that on my booking. The hotel wanted to charge us more for a fifth guest, didn’t want to give us a fifth towel, wanted us to pay more for a fifth breakfast. We didn’t eat the breakfast we’d pre-paid for on second day. We tried both the Chinese and the Western breakfast and both terrible. For less expense we could have stayed somewhere with friendly staff, a concierge to order taxi/help with negotiating Beijing, a good buffet breakfast and adequate and fluffy towels. The towels were threadbare. It wasn’t cheap. If it was cheap I would be more generous with rating but again- could have stayed with a good Western chain for less money and had a much easier time.
    Leaving
    Mikejct
    au
    4.6
    15 October 2017
    Very disappointing experience. Would not recommended anyone stay here. Definitely regret.
    The rooms have been converted into multiple small rooms. Downstairs was a tiny sitting area, no safe as advertised, no wardrobe. Also a separate shower and toilet. Upstairs in the loft was only enough room for a mattress only. The photos on the website were misleading and made rooms and amenities look better than they were. For what we paid 180 AUD a night, we stayed in 5 star accommodation in the centre of Beijing. Wangfujing. My partner is Chinese and wanted me to experience genuine hutong life, but immediately cancelled our second nights accommodation on seeing the room. Towels had holes in them, and I reckon were 20 years or more old.
    The grapevine in the middle of the courtyard.
    Howard
    de
    7.9
    12 October 2017
    Authentic experience in the centre of the city.
    The outside metal stairway to our room was not the safest or easiest to navigate in the rain. If you are unsteady on your feet make sure that you stay downstairs.
    Full of character. Hidden within a Hutong, very close to Tiananmen Square. Very friendly staff and great Chinese breakfast. The room was querky but fun. The very opposite of a business hotel.
    Torrens
    au
    8.8
    23 September 2017
    Hidden gem near the Forbidden City
    Shower heads need to be cleaned or replaced for a better shower
    Great location and friendly staff - although few foreigners seem to pass through so English is limited. Loved the traditional design of the rooms. Breakfast was simple but filling.
    Benjamin
    au
    10
    10 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au
    8.3
    30 April 2017
    Bed mattress on the traditional bed was a bit too thin.
    The traditional room was very well set up. Felt like stepped in time
    yingying
    us
    10
    15 February 2017
    Hotel service is very good, The geographical position is very good, very love breakfast in the hotel room of the bed is very comfortable, give us free upgrade Suite
    Keith
    gb
    6.2
    30 October 2016
    A unique enjoyable experience which some people may not find comfortable enough
    The property's age and character mean that you won't be getting modern amenities. Also room quite expensive for what you get despite its setting and uniqueness.
    The location is very good but the immediate surroundings down a side alley leave a little to be desired. The premises themselves and the courtyard are quite unique and the manager very helpful.
    cn
    9.2
    23 October 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ferry
    nl
    8.3
    1 October 2016
    Best place to visit Beijing and a very kind atmosphere.
    Excellent location, great atmosphere, very kind staff, wonderful China experience.
    Arno Weidema
    nl
    7.5
    20 June 2016
    Potential to be a great place... not there yet.
    Nor the room nor the towels were very clean. Los of dust on the floor. Holes in the towels that smelled like food.
    Very nice location, room and friendly staff. Nice looking boutique hotel in a former bank.
    Rebecca
    au
    6.2
    23 April 2016
    history but at the expense of comfort and maintenance
    The hotel is very old and this was reflected in the upkeep. The amenities were basic and limited and the towels and bedding is in need of replacement. Don't expect modern luxuries. The staff do the best with what they are given to work with but if you are looking for a higher end modern hotel this wont suit you.
    The staff were very helpful.